Cracked Phone

My battery is dead
My earbuds are tangled
My screen is cracked
My hope is mangled

My oven is just an ember
Freezer door is frozen shut
Like a needle on a record
Stuck in a spiraling rut

It’s an election year
Promises poured into my ear
They live on another planet
And anyway I can’t hear

I kicked depression out
A long time ago
She stalks me like a viper
With a sad afterglow

Cataracts form black holes
Yet I see crispness anyway
Only by the grace of God & Red Bull
Do I rise to battle another day
2016 Cronin Detzz

image

Leave a Reply

