Don’t Confuse Mystery with Confusion

image

I started two books this week, one by a cyber thriller writer and another by a world famous sci-fi writer.

The cyber thriller had confusing dialog where I wasn’t always certain who was speaking. There was also too much telling and not enough showing. I couldn’t finish it.

The science fiction piece was confusing because it wasn’t until the beginning of the inciting event that I realized the main character was a female. This writer’s main characters are usually male.

I know we want to avoid too much backstory, but I think we want to have mystery, not confusion.

Keep writing and keep sharing! – Cronin Detzz

2 thoughts on “Don’t Confuse Mystery with Confusion

Leave a Reply

