Direct Opposition–Part III

Great advice from a fellow blogger: your conflicts have to move the plot along. As I told my husband last night, every scene must be NECESSARY. I’m reading Game of Thrones, and I love the creativity, but the books need a word diet. (I say this with respect to the author, Mr. Martin is a genius.)

Chronicles of the Scribe

Continuing my series on conflict created by various types of villains, here’s the list I’ve been discussing:

Concealed villains
Visible villains
Enemies
Antagonists
Opponents

I’m ready now to look at the category I call enemies.

It’s certainly possible for your story protagonist to have an enemy. This implies a past history between the two individuals, one that fuels their motivations for opposing each other. Or the enemy may be an opponent in warfare, from the other side.

But in this post, I want to discuss enemies in plural form, as in … not personal enemies, not Snoopy versus the Red Baron, but in terms of the protagonist coping with several villains, one after the other.

The hapless–rather hopeless–Wilbur Writer, still enthusiastically blundering along, has formed the less-than-brilliant intention of generating conflict for his novel by pitting Peter Protagonist against an entire series of villains–one after the next.

As soon as…

View original post 459 more words

Leave a Reply

